The Rats Ate My Homework

image from matt@ratsauce.com

Since May, our family life and my work life have been somewhat crazy. It started somewhere around the time when a rat fell through the screen of my open window and landed on my head just before daylight, while it was still and dark and eerie. Yeah, I get that same reaction every time I tell the story. So I flipped on the light and jumped out of bed, all the while saying, “It was a nightmare! It was a nightmare! It was a nightmare!” Then I saw the rat run across the floor looking for a way out. Me too. I ran through the door looking for a way out. Thus began a very dark saga, think Stephen King or Moses and the plagues–the end result was that we got out of Egypt, so to speak.

That series of events set off a tornado of changes in our lives, one of those being moving. Instead of rats over our heads, we now have jet planes. Let’s hope one of them doesn’t fall through the window.

During this time, along with the bad, I’ve been blessed with a lot of good. Some of it has been the opportunity to conduct several presentations on The Writer’s Compass. I’ve met some great people and I’m looking forward to more–both presentations and meeting great people. (For more details of the IWOSC and Literary Feasts events, please see my post at http://www.thewriterscompass.com/2011/11/the-rats-ate-my-posts/.)

So all is well, and I’m getting back to business, no more rats, the homework is safe.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ALEXANDRA ROSE
    Nov 28, 2011 @ 23:13:41

    Dear Nancy,

    Would it be possible to receive a review copy of your Writer’s Compass so it can be looked at for possible inclusion in our classes?

    Thanks so much! All good things…,
    Alexandra Rose

    Chair Special Projects and Industry Initiatives,
    CHAPMAN UNIVERSITY

    Reply

Leave a Reply

