Screenwriting 101

Maybe even tougher than selling poetry is selling a screenplay. While there is nonstop television programming and movies available, how many of those are reruns? The cost of creating a movie or a new television show is high and only limited financing is available. Getting distribution can be as daunting as getting financing.

But, wait! That being said, with today’s technology and new media, it is easier than ever to create your own video and get it seen by an audience on the internet. This is what I tell my screenwriting students, “Get together with your friends and do it yourself.” However, you’ll want to start with a good screenplay.

Continue this article written as a guest blog on Morgen Bailey’s website at http://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/guest-post-screenwriting-101-by-nancy-dodd/.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikashblogs
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 22:12:12

    Hey! I love your blog! It’s really inspiring & creative! I would love to hear what you think about my poems? It would be great to hear your opinion! http://nikashblogs.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/news-poems-and-new-extract-youthful-identity/ Thanks 🙂

    Reply

    • Nancy Ellen Dodd
      Feb 12, 2012 @ 22:48:10

      Thank you for sharing your poetry with me. I liked If looks could kill and the way uou contrast the sentiment with the opposing reaction. Since you asked for my feedback, I’ll give you a couple of thoughts. I hope you will take them in the positive and supportive way they are meant. It seems to me you have a poet’s heart and a way of telling a story. I think you could kick your poetry up a notch by adding more metaphors and imagery along with the heartfelt lines. Help me to see at a deeper level what you are feeling by helping me to connect through an image or a metaphor. Good luck with your ebook.

      Reply

  2. morgenbailey
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 23:06:26

    Thank you Nancy (again) for contributing to my blog and I look forward to hosting you again.

    Morgen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

