A Rant About Novel Serializations

I just finished 4 audiobooks. I had listened to the second one a couple of times and liked the character, and thought I liked the author. I pulled together 4 of her books using this character that were written over several years.

I could barely get through them. There was so much repetition it made me nuts. I think she took huge sections and just copied them into the next book to explain stuff that happened in the first book. I got to where I was just fast forwarding to get through those sections. And I couldn’t believe that a character I liked turned out to be so illogical. She was a Superior Court judge, after years of being a prosecutor, and I kept thinking “How could she be this stupid?” The final few paragraphs almost redeemed the books, almost. Overall, I felt the author was bored with the story and the character and thought it was a quick way to turn out a new book.

Note to self: 1) In a series find new ways to tell about important past experiences–don’t repeat! 2) Don’t give your character a high-profile job and then make her/his actions defy logic. It’s okay to be dumb if you don’t know the field, but don’t say how intelligent the character is to cover up the really stupid things he/she does.

Rant over.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. SH
    Dec 13, 2014 @ 17:29:43

    Goodness!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

